Who We Are


Our Goals

The Issues




Woodfin Power Plant

Sign the Woodfin

Power Plant PETITION


Link to Proposed Buncombe County Zoning Plan

In The News

Citizen Toolkit

Who to contact

Upcoming Events

Asheville City Council

Candidates Forum

Tuesday, Sept. 15,  7-9 pm

Doors open at 6:30

Randolph Learning Center

90 Montford Ave. Asheville


Duke Rate increase hearing to subsidize CLIFFSIDE!

Thursday, Sept. 17,  7 pm

(Pre-hearing rally at 6 pm)

McDowell County Courthouse

Main and Court St.

downtown Marion


Sign Up For Our Newsletter


Contact Us


Donate To The Cause




Citizen Toolkit:    Use YOUR Voice!

Write editorial letters and call elected officials.


Considering a run for County Commission? Read this.

Considering a run for City Council in 2009?  Read this.


If you are interested in learning more about County government,

County Government: Historical Perspective.


FREE DOWNLOAD!   An invaluable resource:

"How To Win Land Development Issues"



Media Contacts

Asheville Citizen-Times   letters@citizen-times.com

Citizen-Times reporter Clarke Morrison   cmorrison@citizen-times.com

Mountain Xpress   news@mountainx.com

Asheville City Paper  Cecil Bothwell   cecil@citypaperasheville.com

Asheville Daily Planet  news@ashevilledailyplanet.com

Asheville Tribune   tribuneeditor@bellsouth.net



County Commissioners

David Gantt, Chairman  (828) 252-2852   commissioner@davidgantt.com

Holly Jones  (828) 250-4004  holly.jones@buncombecounty.org

Bill Stanley   (828) 250-4007   bill.stanley@buncombecounty.org

Carol Peterson   (828) 250-4005   carol.peterson@buncombecounty.org

K. Ray Bailey   (828) 273-1921   ray.bailey@buncombecounty.org


To send to all commissioners, copy and paste these email addresses into the

"To" field of your email:

commissioner@davidgantt.com holly.jones@buncombecounty.org; bill.stanley@buncombecounty.org; carol.peterson@buncombecounty.org; ray.bailey@buncombecounty.org


County Planners

James Coman, County Planner    james.coman@buncombecounty.org

Jon Creighton, Director    jon.creighton@buncombecounty.org



County Planning Board

Scott Hughes, Chair    scotth@jpspa.com

Brian Bartlett    bb_adcinc@bellsouth.net

Tom Alexander    talexander@taylorandmurphy.com

James Coman, County Planner    james.coman@buncombecounty.org

Vernon Dover    vernondover@charter.net

Greg Phillips    mayfairllc@aol.com

Les Mitchell    lesjanemitchell@msn.com

Rod Hudgins    rmhudgins@bellsouth.net

Joe Sechler   osprey388@bellsouth.net
Michelle Pace Wood    mpwood@bellsouth.net


To send to all planning board members, copy and paste these email addresses into the

"To" field of your email:

talexander@taylorandmurphy.com; bb_adcinc@bellsouth.net; vernondover@charter.net; james.coman@buncombecounty.org; mayfairllc@aol.com; osprey388@bellsouth.net; lesjanemitchell@msn.com; rmhudgins@bellsouth.net; mpwood@bellsouth.net; scott@jpspa.com



County Manager

Wanda Green, County Mgr.   (828) 250-4100   wanda.greene@buncombecounty.org


City Council

Terry Bellamy, Mayor   (828) 259-5600   mayorbellamy@gmail.com

Jan Davis, Vice Mayor   (828) 253-9465   jandavis@main.nc.us

Kelly Miller  (828) 252-7271   kellyforcouncil@gmail.com
Robin Cape   (828) 216-4009

Bill Russell   (828) 274-7388   billrussell@charter.net

Carl Mumpower   (828) 255-8613    drmumpower@aol.com        

Brownie Newman   (828) 243-0107   newmanasheville@aol.com


To send to Mayor and all Council members, copy and paste these email addresses into the

"To" field of your email:

mayorbellamy@ashevillenc.gov; kellyforcouncil@gmail.com; rcape@charter.net; jandavis@main.nc.us; billrussell@charter.net; drmumpower@aol.com; newmanasheville@aol.com



City Planning Department

Shannon Tuch, Interim Planning Director  (828) 259-5817  stuch@ashevillenc.gov

City of Asheville web site



City Planning and Zoning Members

Tom Byers, Chair   tbyers@charter.net
Steven Sizemore, Vice-Chair   sws@northupmcconnell.com
David Young  
Davidsah@Bellsouth.net   712-9000 (prefers phone calls to email)

Cindy Weeks   cindy@mtnhousing.org
Nathaniel (Buzz) Cannady   ncannady@mbhaynes.com
Jerome Jones   cjerome@mindspring.com
Darryl Hart   Dhart06@aol.com


To send to all members, copy and paste these email addresses into the

"To" field of your email:

tbyers@charter.net; sws@northupmcconnell.com; Davidsah@Bellsouth.net; cindy@mtnhousing.org; ncannady@mbhaynes.com; cjerome@mindspring.com; Dhart06@aol.com



City Manager

Gary Jackson   (828) 259-5604   gjackson@ashevillenc.gov



 NC Dept. of Environment and Natural Resources (NCDENR)

Asheville Regional DENR office - Swannanoa   296-4500



Clean Water for NC   gracia@cwfnc.org   251-1291  (CWFNC)


Talking Points - Coming Soon


FAQ's - Coming Soon